Vibrant enterprises

If we consider change as the normal state and stability as the exception, then this also has massive effects on how we understand and implement interventions. The narrative approach of organizational development is fueled by participation, because we expose experts who initiate and accompany targeted change measures from outside as the constructed longing of those who want to control everything.

The good news is that every construction tells a story that can be shaped and rewritten together. In StoryWork we leave behind us externally determined and restrictive stories and open new windows into the land of possibilities.

We work with stories and use them in a variety of ways to analyze corporate cultures, deepen change processes, raise informal knowledge, condense visions through worlds of experience, put strategies on concrete legs, or simply to shape your storytelling so that it sticks in people’s minds.

10 entries / 10 offers:

  1. EXPLORING YOUR STORYBASE / The initial narrative spark: Who are we apart from our missions and marketing statements? And what is lived in our company? Finding and developing our own story base.
  2. REFLECTING CULTURE / The first step to a learning organization: Experiencing and shaping corporate culture means that we taste the water we move like fish on a daily basis. What beliefs underlie our actions? What is allowed and what is prohibited? What do we like to talk about and what are our blind spots in the company?
  3. BUILDING ECHO-SYSTEMS / Agility on the pulse of time: We are not only the stories we tell about ourselves, but also the stories others tell about us. When both are brought into alignment, we speak of resonance. A state in which a company is in harmony with itself and its environment. A state of maximum responsiveness in complex and rapidly changing markets.
  4. GROUNDING CHANGE / Change from the inside out: Many employees are tired of change, because change projects are executed past them and do not touch their world of experience. No wonder that often neither the goal nor the path to it is shared by the employees.
  5. LEADING WITH STORIES / Rehearsing narrative stance: Narrative leadership begins with mindfulness and listening to what is being told in the company. Only when this listening is lived one can begin to develop stories that inspire others.
  6. TEAMING UP WITH STORIES / Finding unity in diversity: Understanding individuality not as a deviation from a norm, but as an enriching perspective. Understanding the perceived diversity as a new unity. Learning to listen. Building dialogue spaces together.
  7. ENVISIONING TOMORROW / Earthing the future in the now: “He who does not know his name, who forgets who he is, is stupid,” says the frog in the little I-Am-Me. The problem with many future stories is that they are arbitrary and not rooted in what is there. Narrative intelligence means forming the visions from the clay that is given to us.
  8. SELLING IDEAS / Find your “backstory”: You already have an idea, a wonderful product, a promising service – but don’t know how to present it authentically as a story that will stick? Then perhaps you have not yet asked yourself the right questions…
  9. WALKABOUTS / Growing in movement: Developing stories in walking, experiencing paths in walking. Perceiving yourself and what surrounds you. Walking as pausing. As spelling change. Step by step. / 1:1 format / duration: at least 2 days
  10. INDIVIDUELLE COACHINGS / Systemic, narrative dialogues (also online) / 1:1 format / duration: 1 hour

Recent Public Workshops:

  • “STORYWORK – Part II.” The role of stories in change processes. 2-days-modul @ASK-Akademie Salzburg, 25th and 26th of November 2020.
  • Narrative organization development” at the Stuttgart Media University. An advanced course in 4 blocks. Feb. to Sept. 2020
  • “BEYOND STORYTELLING.” Narrative work in practice. Toys, tools & insights. 2-days-modul @ASK-Akademie Salzburg, 18th and 19th of October 2019.
  • “STORY UP YOUR LIFE.” Life like a Movie. Poetic reflexions with moving images. 2-days-modul @ASK-Akademie Salzburg, 20th and 21st of September 2019.
  • “STORYWORK.” Introduction into narrative work. 2-days-modul @ASK-Akademie Salzburg, 26th and 27th of April 2019.
  • “THE SUN IS STILL IN MY EYES.” A hands on reflection about the construction of our life story based on a movie project with the Berlin artist Wilhelm Singer. Workshop und Screening @Beyond Storytelling. Congress on 8th and 9th of June 2018 in Hamburg/Germany.
  • Climbing Mountains. Moving Mountains. Workshop @Beyond Storytelling. Congress on 19th and 20th of May 2017 in Heidelberg.

Pulsierende Unternehm(ung)en

Wenn wir Veränderung als den Normalzustand begreifen und Stabilität als Ausnahme, dann hat das auch massive Auswirkungen darauf, wie wir Interventionen verstehen und umsetzen. Der narrative Ansatz der Organisationsentwicklung ist durch und durch partizipativ, weil wir Experten, die von außen gezielte Change-Maßnahmen initiieren und begleiten, als konstruierte Sehnsucht derer entlarven, die alles kontrollieren wollen.

Die gute Nachricht ist, dass jede Konstruktion eine Geschichte erzählt, die gemeinsam gestaltet und neu geschrieben werden kann. Im StoryWork lassen wir fremdbestimmte und einengende Geschichten hinter uns und öffnen neue Fenster ins Möglichkeitenland.

Wir arbeiten mit Geschichteen und nutzen sie auf vielfältige Weise, um Unternehmenskulturen zu analysieren, Change-Prozesse zu vertiefen, informelles Wissen zu heben, Visionen durch Erfahrungswelten zu verdichten, Strategien auf konkrete Beine zu stellen oder ganz einfach ihr Storytelling so zu gestalten, dass es in den Köpfen der Menschen hängen bleibt.

10 Zugänge / 10 Angebote:

  1. EXPLORING YOUR STORYBASE / Die narrative Initialzündung: Wer sind wir abseits unserer Missions und Marketing Statements? Und was wird in unserem Unternehmen gelebt? Die eigene Geschichtenbasis finden und entwickeln.
  2. REFLECTING CULTURE / Der erste Schritt zur lernenden Organisation: Unternehmenskultur erfahren und gestalten bedeutet, dass wir das Wasser kosten, in dem wir uns Fischen gleich tagtäglich bewegen. Welche Glaubenssätze liegen unserem Handeln zugrunde? Was ist erlaubt und was verboten? Worüber reden wir gerne und was sind unsere Blind Spots im Unternehmen?
  3. BUILDING ECHO-SYSTEMS / Agiles Handeln am Puls der Zeit: Wir sind nicht nur die Geschichten, die wir über uns selbst erzählen, sondern auch die Geschichten, die andere über uns erzählen. Wenn beide zur Deckung gebracht werden, dann sprechen wir von Resonanz. Ein Zustand, in dem ein Unternehmen im Einklang ist mit sich und seinen Umwelten. Ein Zustand höchster Reaktionsbereitschaft in komplexen und sprunghaft sich verändernden Märkten.
  4. GROUNDING CHANGE / Veränderung von innen nach außen: Viele Mitarbeiter sind veränderungsmüde, weil Change-Projekte an ihnen vorbei exekutiert werden und ihre Erfahrungswelten nicht berühren. Kein Wunder, dass oft weder das Ziel noch der Weg dorthin von den Mitarbeiterinnen geteilt wird.
  5. LEADING WITH STORIES / Einübung in die narrative Haltung: Narratives Leadership beginnt mit Achtsamkeit und dem Hineinhören, was im Unternehmen erzählt wird. Erst wenn dieses Zuhören gelebt wird, kann man daran gehen, Geschichten zu entwickeln, die andere begeistern.
  6. TEAMING UP WITH STORIES / Die Einheit in der Vielfalt finden: Individualität nicht als Abweichung von einer Norm begreifen, sondern als bereichernde Perspektive. Die wahrgenommene Vielfalt als neue Einheit begreifen. Zuhören lernen. Gemeinsam Dialogräume bauen.
  7. ENVISIONING TOMORROW / Die Zukunft im Jetzt erden: „Wer nicht weiß, wie er heißt, wer vergisst, wer er ist, ist dumm“, sagt der Frosch im kleinen Ich-Bin-Ich. Das Problem vieler Zukunftsgeschichten ist, dass sie beliebig sind, weil sie nicht in dem wurzeln, was da ist. Narrative Intelligenz bedeutet, die Visionen aus dem Lehm zu formen, der uns gegeben ist.
  8. SELLING IDEAS / Die „Backstory“ finden: Sie haben bereits eine Idee, ein wunderbares Produkt, ein vielversprechendes Service – wissen jedoch nicht, wie sie diese(s) authentisch als Geschichte präsentieren, die hängenbleibt? Dann haben Sie sich vielleicht noch nicht die richtigen Fragen gestellt…
  9. WALKABOUTS / Im Bewegen wachsen: Geschichten im Gehen entwickeln, Wege im Gehen erfahren. Sich wahrnehmen und das, was einen umgibt. Gehen als Innehalten. Als Buchstabieren von Veränderung. Schritt für Schritt. / 1:1 Format / Dauer: mind. 2 Tage
  10. INDIVIDUELLE COACHINGS / Systemisch, narrative Dialoge (auch online) / 1:1 Format / Dauer: 1 Stunde

Aktuelle, öffentliche Workshops:

  • „STORYWORK – Teil 2.“ Die Rolle von Geschichten in Veränderungsprozessen; 2-Tages-Modul an der ASK-Akademie Salzburg, 25. und 26. November 2020.
  • Narrative Organisationsberatung“ an der Hochschule für Medien in Stuttgart. Ein Lehrgang in 4 Blöcken. Februar bis September 2020
  • „BEYOND STORYTELLING.“ Die narrative Arbeit in der Praxis. Toys, Tools & Insights. 2-Tages-Modul an der ASK-Akademie Salzburg, 18. und 19. Oktober 2019.
  • „STORY UP YOUR LIFE.“ Leben wie im Film. Poetische Reflexionen mit bewegten und bewegenden Bildern. 2-Tages-Modul an der ASK-Akademie Salzburg, 20. und 21. September 2019.
  • „STORYWORK.“ Einführung in die narrative Arbeit; 2-Tages-Modul an der ASK-Akademie Salzburg, 26. und 27. April 2019.
  • „THE SUN IS STILL IN MY EYES.“ Eine Co-Reflexion über die Kontruktion von Lebensgeschichten anhand eines gemeinsamen Filmprojekts mit dem Berliner Künstler Wilhelm Singer. Workshop und Filmpräsentation @Beyond Storytelling. Kongress am 8. und 9. Juni 2018 in Hamburg.
  • Climbing Mountains. Moving Mountains. Workshop @Beyond Storytelling. Kongress am 19. und 20. Mai 2017 in Heidelberg.